Kaya Korean Traditional Bow

N.Vodden

Ironman
Hi everybody! :)

For various reasons, in the last 6 months or so I have moved away from shooting Recurve that I have for the last 4-5 years and have moved full time to traditional archery for the sheer enjoyment and simplicity of it. I have always shot Eastern bows on the side so have embraced the style full time. There is an active group at Pentref Bowmen that shoot Asiatic style Eastern bows, and we have been playing around with different styles and I have been shooting with a thumb ring for about 3 months now. Adapting to the new draw, I have moved into the Korean form of shooting, with the long draw length and low anchor.

I was using a Grozer TRH Crimean Tartar bow for this but the draw length on it was limited, and it was not really suited to the style so after trying my friend's Hwarang bow, I decided to order one of the Kaya KTB bows as they are very similar in style. I ordered it from Ten Ring Archery and the service was fantastic in getting it to me next day so I could debut it at the club ( i'm impatient!:raspberry )

Initial impressions of the bow was that more care could have been taken in the manufacture of it. There are a couple of areas on the leather covering where glue has seeped onto it, and a big thumb print in glue on the top limb. This should come off with a light rubbing of some abrasive but I haven't done this yet. The handle however was pretty poor. The leather cut to cover it was crooked edged and not the right size, and there were a lot of glue marks. The leather arrow pass was also poory fitted. This can be seen in the below pictures.

I wasn't especially fond of the paisley patterned leather in the pictures but in the flesh, it is a lot more subdued and not as garish as some flash photos make out and it has actually grown on me now!