Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: To Click or not to Click.......

In the Blue
    Thanks

To Click or not to Click.......

I have been shooting for about two years, have been using a clicker with good effect, but still struggle to get the shot off quickly. Shooting outside on Sunday this was really noticable, if i managed to come upto draw, and pull the shot through then great, but i was struggling with the wind blustering around me, if i was up to long then i was dropping shots or could not hold on the target. i was shooting a gents FITA.

At 50 yards the wind was picking up and the score was going down so for the last end i thought i would shoot without the clicker and my score went up, once i had got used to it and the last distance was OK too. What was noticed was that i was drawing 1/2" further than when i use the clicker and stuggling, i am now confused, how come i struggle with 1/2" less draw and is it worth shooting without the clicker, how many good archers do? i realise it adds consistancy, but you have to be good to get benifit!

In the Gold
    Thanks
    You might be overdrawing/using arm muscles.
    Support British Bowyers!!!!

Soaring I've taken part in an AIUK American Shoot.The Fonz Award.AIUK subscriber. TJ Mason's Avatar
    Blog Entries
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by ssoanes View Post
    What was noticed was that i was drawing 1/2" further than when i use the clicker and struggling, i am now confused, how come i struggle with 1/2" less draw
    Shot anticipation. You're slowing down, on tenterhooks waiting for the clicker to drop. This is a result of letting the clicker take control of the shot (which, unfortunately, is what a lot of "experts" advise you to do).