CLICK TO REGISTER FOR THE AIUK IRONMAN
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Discuss Difficulty Changing from Corner of Mouth - Bare Bow to Under Chin Olympic Style at the Recurve Bow within Archery Interchange Forums; I have been shooting Trad for many years and started shooting Bare Bow a few ...
    In the White AIUK subscriber.
    Thanks

Difficulty Changing from Corner of Mouth - Bare Bow to Under Chin Olympic Style

I have been shooting Trad for many years and started shooting Bare Bow a few months ago. I have always wanted to give Olympic Style Recurve a try.

Traditional and Bare Bow:
    25" Riser
    Medium limbs = 68 inch bow
    40 to 42 pounds OTF
    28 inch DL
    Anchor corner of Mouth Middle Finger

Olympic Bow
    25" Riser
    40 pounds OTF
    Medium limbs
    28 inch DL
    Anchor Under Chin with String on Chin and Nose

It feels like I am pulling lot more weight or using totally different muscle group. I can't believe it feels so difficult.

What could I be doing wrong. Or do I need to keep at it and build up to the weight? Maybe lighter limbs are in order to help learn form!

2. Advertisements like those above are essential to keep AIUK running. If you'd like to remove the Google and Ebay adverts and help us meet our running costs, please consider subscribing for only 1.50 per month. Thank you!

In the Gold
    Blog Entries
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by f_thomas View Post
    I have been shooting Trad for many years and started shooting Bare Bow a few months ago. I have always wanted to give Olympic Style Recurve a try.

Traditional and Bare Bow:
    25" Riser
    Medium limbs = 68 inch bow
    40 to 42 pounds OTF
    28 inch DL
    Anchor corner of Mouth Middle Finger

Olympic Bow
    25" Riser
    40 pounds OTF
    Medium limbs
    28 inch DL
    Anchor Under Chin with String on Chin and Nose

It feels like I am pulling lot more weight or using totally different muscle group. I can't believe it feels so difficult.