Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Discuss Finger position on drawing bow at the Recurve Bow within Archery Interchange UK Forums; Hi I would just like to ask members their opinion on something. Im new to ...
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Tournaments Joined
    Tournaments Won
    Downloads
    Uploads
    Thanks

Finger position on drawing bow

Hi

I would just like to ask members their opinion on something.

Im new to archery having done a days archery experience in Kent and becoming totally addicted! On that day we had the briefest of instruction before getting "stuck in" and we were told when drawing the bow string to put one finger above and 2 below the arrow.

I started a beginners archery course last night and interestingly we were told to put all 3 fingers below the arrow when drawing. I appeared to have a problem doing this as kept going to put one finger above and the instructor said to me that we start with 3 below then go to two fingers below the arrow but never one above.

What is the general concensus on finger position on the bow string when drawing? Am just wondering what is the "correct" text book method and what is the most common method.

Thanks for your views!

Witchie Poo Cat

2. Advertisements like those above are essential to keep AIUK running. If you'd like to remove the Google and Ebay adverts and help us meet our running costs, please consider subscribing for only 1.50 per month. Thank you!

Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Tournaments Joined
    Tournaments Won
    Downloads
    Uploads
    Thanks
    I think you'll find that as a learner, you're taught only for the first lesson to draw the arrow with all 3 fingers under the arrow. This is probably because you were "sighting" by looking along the length of the arrow, and not actually using a bow sight at all.