Range as function of poundage. And another thing. Three things, in fact.

mully

I currently shoot at 34 lb. We've just moved outside at the club for the first outdoor session of the year - it's my first time shooting outdoors, having shot on an indoor 20-yard range since I started a few months ago. My bow can be adjusted up to about 38 lb, I think. Shooting from 30 yards was ok, once I'd adjusted sight/windage. The question is - how far could I shoot with a bow of that poundage, using Easton Jazz arrows?

And another thing.

When I draw fully, I always feel as if....well, if the draw was an inch or two longer, I'd be more comfortable, put it like that. Is it possible to adjust the draw length without too much hassle?

Oh, and another another thing, while I'm at it.

A fellow club member has sold me a carbon long rod and two stabilisers, but no v-bar. Which would be better, an adjustable v-bar or a fixed one? I've already ordered one from Bowsports, but I'm curious as to whether I've made the right choice.

Thanks

Stephen Mulholland

TJ Mason

Soaring
Supporter
Fonz Awardee
American Shoot
38 lb is enough to reach 100 yards comforatbly, but Jazz arrows won't be greatly accurate at that range. They'll be affected by wind more than alu/carbon composite arrows would be. But I've had decent scores at up to 60 yards with Jazz arrows.

Draw length: do you mean the draw-length of the bow, or your own draw length? If the bow, what make and model is it?

V-bar: there's less to come loose with a fixed v-bar, but an adjustable v-bar allows far more options. In particular, it allows you to angle the v-bars down, which some people like to do. I prefer the fixed ones myself.

mully

TJ Mason - 15/4/2005 2:36 PM

38 lb is enough to reach 100 yards comforatbly, but Jazz arrows won't be greatly accurate at that range. They'll be affected by wind more than alu/carbon composite arrows would be. But I've had decent scores at up to 60 yards with Jazz arrows.