why carbon arrows?

xeonsPWN

im very new to this and have only shot indoors. why do people use carbon arrows outside? can i use my aluminum arrows outdoors?

Murray

Ironman
American Shoot
AIUK Saviour
Primarily, carbon arrows are strong and light, and less affected by the elements on their way to the target. You CAN use ali's outdoors. but getting to the longer distances can be much more of a challenge.

Macbow

I use Carbon Express Heritage shafts with my AFB because they look like woodies but are supertough and consistent, cheap and cost effective, and I can adjust the overall weight from the same as my cedar shafts (400 grains) to heavy (600 grains). I use carbons for training and save my matched tapered woods for competition.
You can certainly use aluminiums outdoors - one advantage of aluminium over carbon is a metal detector picks them up easily. Very handy on a field course.

Rik

Supporter
Supporter
As Murray says, Carbon shafts are lighter than aluminium. Lighter shafts means less draw weight needed to get the longer distances. Carbon shafts can also be made thinner, for the same stiffness as an equivalent ali shaft, so you get less wind drift.

If you're shooting shorter distances, then there is no problem with ali shafts outdoors, so long as you accept that they're slower and will get blown about by the wind a little more. I'd guess that most people start shooting outdoors wil ali shafts, and only move up to carbon when they need to.

GeoffT

Ironman
All but the crudest carbons are built around a thin aluminum core and so can also be found easily by a metal detector

joetapley

Lighter shafts means less draw weight needed to get the longer distances.
Or conversely higher arrow speeds with the same draw weight. People (including low draw weight me) have always been able to reach 100 yards with Ali arrows.