Compound Bow Best compound for under ?400

abo

Hi all newbie here been using a loaned compound for a time so I am looking to buy one so just looking for some views please

big-bill3

Hi, when I started I made a lot of mistakes.. The first thing to do is to establish the spec ie what draw weight,, draw length, brace height etc. will you use it for target, 3D or what? With that info, you can narrow down your options. There's plenty on the used market, especially if you're prepared to buy from the USA. I went for a PSE Stinger as it would cone down to a 40lb draw weight, then moved to a Bear Anarchy. I'm not sure there are bad bows out there. For the first few years the archer is the limiting factor

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Z28

Hi
is your budget for the bow or the whole kit, re bearing in mind that the add on, sight, release aid etc all cost a lot more for a compound? Depends of course on what you use it for and whether you want new or second hand. Sometimes a whole kit will appear for sale but it will need to be exactly what you need as there is limited adjustability with many compounds. So consider carefully and get checked the items in big-bill's post and don't try and compromise - it can be expensive in the long run. You could get something like an Infinite Edge new around ?300 but then a release aid will be up to ?150+ for a hand held.

big-bill3

On the subject of release aids, I got totally confused over what style of release aid to go for. They all look similar and the nerds will all tell you their preferences, so following help from an American friend with 3D and hunting experience I went for a Winn Archery FreeFlight C-10 and its loop equivalent. http://www.winnarchery.com. I love it because you can draw a greater weight because you're not using your fingers, but your wrist to draw. I have a RH large size C-10 when you want to buy it.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

abo