Compound Bow Compound for a new archer

Drake267

Hi guys, im just after a bit of advice if possible. Im new to archery, finished my beginners course and would like to buy my own compound. Would prefer something thats adjustable a fair amount. After looking around and visiting merlin at Bishop Auckland i really like the mybo origin. Problem is my funds wont stretch to a new mybo yet, plus all the extras i would need. I have seen a used, mint 2016 bear escape with a hunting sight, release aid, arrows and a couple of extra bits. Priced at ?650. Would that be a good buy for myself? Or would you buy a lesser specced bow but new? Quite a fan of buying used as i could recoup a fair bit of my outlay if i decide to sell. Is the bear escape a good bow? Is that price about right for it? Any advice on the above bows or indeed anything else would be most appreciated. Thanks guys.

Mark31121

Ironman
We'd need more information really, but that's a beast of a bow for a newbie and probably too high a draw-weight for starting out - you don't want to do yourself an injury starting too high too soon and it's more technique than strength.

Release aids are a very personal thing so hard to comment but the hunting sights are usually only any good for either hunting (illegal in the UK) or field so it depends on what you want to do.

Drake267

Compound bow