Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Discuss Help needed with an old compound bow .... at the Compound Bow within Archery Interchange UK Forums; Hi , I am hoping I can find someone who may be able to help ...
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Downloads
    Uploads
    Thanks

Help needed with an old compound bow ....

Hi , I am hoping I can find someone who may be able to help me out with some advice .
    Long story short , I used to shoot recurve as a junior 20+ years ago with my dad and my brother (they shot recurve too) , my brother decided he wanted to try a compound , sold his recurve and bought a new Barnett international compound . Life went on , we all gave up archery due to school , work , getting married bla bla . Anyway , I started shooting again last September (recurve again - sorry !!) but my dad got the opportunity to buy my brothers old compound and did . He is just a recreational archer , the bow kind of had sentimental value as it was my brothers and he just shoots it now and again here at my place when he feels like shooting. The problem is that I have no idea if it is set up properly and my brother can't remember how to set it up either . The details on the label of the bow read :-
    Barnett Scorpia.
    Barnett International
    peak weight 50
    draw length 29
    draw lenght range 28-30
    string length 38

So ... I have set up the bracing height slightly above level with the rest as you would a recurve but apart from that we are not too sure what to do to check it .
    There is a plastic disc top and bottom on the cables with a crossed slot in it so you can put the cables in any one of the 4 slot ends labelled 1 to 4 . What are these for - changing the draw length or the poundage ?
    Also with regard to the allen bolts that hold the limbs to the riser , are these to be tightened up as much as possible or do they provide some kind of adjustment like on my Hoyt recurve ?