Peep Sight Line Up

Gerry

Hi all as i'm completely new to compound shooting i was wondering how you line up your peep to front sight eg: Say i had my front sight at the top of it's scale for short distance say 15yards and i line up my peep with what i think is the correct position on string about 130mm from nock take aim and shoot, the arrow hits way low. Do i move my sight down the scale to compensate or move the peep up or down to realign.When i say low i'm talking 2feet from the point aimed at.Or am i reading to much into this.

Alex Greig

The peep should stay in a fixed position, that is the distance from you nocking point to your eye. If you anchor point is consistant then the peep should not need to be moved.

You only need to alter the bowsight as you would with a recurve. ie. If hitting low then move sight down.

Rik

Supporter
Supporter
Alex Greig said:
The peep should stay in a fixed position, that is the distance from you nocking point to your eye. If you anchor point is consistant then the peep should not need to be moved.

You only need to alter the bowsight as you would with a recurve. ie. If hitting low then move sight down.
Or... the peep should not need to be moved, often. I find that the peep setup for long distances and for indoors is slightly different. It's to do with the peep/sight/reference-point relationship. But this is with aluminium shafts. I suspect that if I shot carbons out of this bow, I'd have a tighter set of sight marks and less reason to move the peep.

But yes, you certainly don't move it as a way of sighting in...

Adam

Rik said:
Or... the peep should not need to be moved, often. I find that the peep setup for long distances and for indoors is slightly different.