cutting bamboo shafts

gabry

hi everybody,i've recently boughy some tapered bamboo shafts and i'd like to ask if anybody has suggestions about how they can be cut to measure and what kind of points you use on tapered shafts:i shoot a longbow and have always used poc shafts not tapered,so i'm quite new to them...thanks

bobnewboy

hi everybody,i've recently boughy some tapered bamboo shafts and i'd like to ask if anybody has suggestions about how they can be cut to measure and what kind of points you use on tapered shafts:i shoot a longbow and have always used poc shafts not tapered,so i'm quite new to them...thanks
If you use parallel fit piles, then there is no problem. Sand the pile end (which should be the thicker end) of the shaft by spinning it in sandpaper until the shaft fits tightly into the pile, and use good glue, such as Araldite. If you shoot field like I do, arrange the shaft so that there is a bamboo node around an inch behind the end of the pile socket. In that way you get a very strong section of the shaft just behind the pile, and the arrow is less likely to break off at the pile in case you hit a stone or a tree jumps out on you.

//Bob

gabry

thanks Bob,though my reply comes quite late...I've made my bamboo arrows the way you wrote here and also with another set i've tried the traditional way,that is sharpening the point and nock ends.As a matter of fact,parallel points are much easier to fit and they go straight.Bamboo arrows are very good to shoot,they fly straight,though i have to choose them according to their diameter and not spine :i've tried the second but they come out too heavy for my bow,while i have seen that 7-7,5 mm diameter (maybe a 30-35 spine) fly very well with my 40 lbs flatbow and their total weight is the same as the poc arrows i used before.:fita2:

ChakaZulu

Can't find him but maybe he hasn't got any atm. Tempted by 100 shafts for ?80 delivered from China though...