Self nocks on arras

jb.68

Just thought I would kick this section off by showing how I cut the slots for self nocks.

Hope it is of some use.

jb

D

Deleted member 7654

Nice...I didn't know photobucket supported vids.
I'll have to see what our new camera (Christmas pressie for me & Mrs Cat) will do in video mode.
Del

jb.68

Hi again, I was asked a couple of questions regarding the set up, so I thought I would post it here too.

I am a chippy by trade, and I had an old jiggy (jigsaw) sitting around. Not really any use for work any more, but OK for this kind of thing.

I cut a straight slot in a piece of 18mm mdf and then undermounted the jiggy to it. It does require drilling through the base plate which means you may not be able to use it again for anything else.

The silver guide is called a clamp guide, it is made by a firm called Trend, but you can buy a cheaper version from B&Q. Which to be honest will be just as good for this kind of thing.

Then you just have to work out your centres for the shafts and set the fence accordingly.

There is a health and safety side, but to be honest, it is not quite the same as pushing through a circular type saw.
Nice use of a jig saw just don't let health and safety see:rotfl:
;) :raspberry (a valid point all the same, care should be taken)

Hope that helps. I do have a couple of pics, but can take some more when I get time if you want them.

All the best
jb

Kae

The American
American Shoot
Fantastic idea, I already have a mount for a jiggy so wouldn't be too much of a faff and much easier than a hacksaw!

Kae.

Schoonertom