New to string making

albatross

Supporter
Supporter
AIUK Saviour
I am new to archery and I have just started making my own recurve bow strings and would like to ask a couple of questions.

I have a Hoyt Helix riser with long limbs giving a 70" bow. The Hoyt manual states that I should use a 67" string. I made one up using 8125 material 18 strand. I served the ends using diamondback serving thread and fitted it to the bow to test the brace height, it was only about 20cm (less than 8"). I had to make 40 twists to get a brace height of 30cm (9"). Is this too many twists? Should I use a shorter string length, say 66.5" and use fewer twists?

I have seen several posts about using monofilament fishing line for the centre serving. If used in the correct diameter is it suitable. Could I use a braided monofilament line instead (to get better wear resistance)?

And finally. When applying the centre serving with the string mounted on the bow. Do you twist the string to get the brace height and then apply the serving or leave it untwisted (as it come off the string jig)?

Thanks for your patience (I wish I had taken-up this sport years ago instead of just watching others doing it)!

EVC

I had to make 40 twists to get a brace height of 30cm (9"). Is this too many twists? Should I use a shorter string length, say 66.5" and use fewer twists?
40 twists is just fine. According to BCY site (IIRC) something between 2 and 1 inches per twist is OK so you could have up to 60 twists without a problem. Just do not forget the string will creep a little so the BH will decrease. In my experience it decreases 1/2" before settling. I make my strings 3.5" shorter because of that.

I have seen several posts about using monofilament fishing line for the centre serving. If used in the correct diameter is it suitable. Could I use a braided monofilament line instead (to get better wear resistance)?
Can't help you on this. I use 1D or #3D for the ends and 62XS or Diamond for the center serving.