Paying to Coach

Galvern1999

Hello, I'm relatively new to archery(2 year) and was thinking about becoming a coach. That was until I was informed that in order to coach I would be expected to pay for the privilege of coaching. I have seen a thread on here saying that AGB will not allow coaches to be paid. How do AGB stand on the issue of coaches being asked to pay in order that they can coach.

Thanks.

Rik

Supporter
Supporter
It really depends on your local organisations. Some will pay the course fees of people willing to take a course and coach within their area.

dvd8n

Supporter
Supporter
AIUK Saviour
My understanding is that:

You need to pay to do the coaching courses/qualifications. Your club or area may finance this for you.

It is AGB insurance that prohibits payment, rather than AGB itself. If you want to charge beyond reasonable expenses then you need to sort out insurance yourself. Also venue, equipment etc.

I may be wrong..................

D

Deleted member 7654

The barter economy exists to circumvent this sort of beurocratic nonsense.
That'll be a nice bottle of red, thank you very much. :)
Del

Corax67

Hello, I'm relatively new to archery(2 year) and was thinking about becoming a coach. That was until I was informed that in order to coach I would be expected to pay for the privilege of coaching. I have seen a thread on here saying that AGB will not allow coaches to be paid. How do AGB stand on the issue of coaches being asked to pay in order that they can coach.

Thanks.

Fair to say that AGB stand fairly and squarely in the "if you want to go on a coaching course it's going to cost you" camp.

I will be looking at doing a Level 1 coaching course next year and I'm saving up to pay, I wouldn't ask my club to fund me because we have a couple of coaches already but it's something I want to do so I will pay my money and crack on.

Karl

dvd8n

Supporter
Supporter
AIUK Saviour