View Poll Results: Who is still using the Soma Saker I bab

Voters
24. You may not vote on this poll
  • Still use exclusively

    16 66.67%
  • Use it just as a training aid

    1 4.17%
  • Gone back to previous tab

    7 29.17%
  • Found something new to try

    1 4.17%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Results 1 to 12 of 12
Discuss Soma Saker I Tab in Use Review at the Archery Polls within Archery Interchange UK Forums; Now that it has all gone quiet regarding the Soma Saker I tab, Id be ...
  1. #1
    In the Black
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    87
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Soma Saker I Tab in Use Review

    Now that it has all gone quiet regarding the Soma Saker I tab, Id be interested t see who is still using them.
    I tried it, liked it, but found that when I went back to my previous tab, I shot better with that one. I do still use it occasionally, I find it helps remind me to keep the back of my hand flat.

    Still use exclusively
    Use it just as a training aid
    Gone back to previous tab
    Found something new to try






  2. Advertisements like those above are essential to keep AIUK running. If you'd like to remove the Google and Ebay adverts and help us meet our running costs, please consider subscribing for only 1.50 per month. Thank you!
     

  3. #2
    In the White Phijama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Hull
    Posts
    19
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Having tried a few other tabs in between I've gone back to a saker. I'm told that my hand was flat without the tab but I really liked the feel in the palm. I don't use the 'lil finger rest but do use the thumb rest.

    Prior to this tab the A&F platform tab was my favourite, I do miss the nice platform that had to offer - I had a much more solid contact at anchor than the saker but the saker just feels so nice and stable in the palm.

  4. #3
    In the Gold Rhys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Nottingham
    Posts
    1,050
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Downloads
    125
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    After an experiment in cutting off the top of a cavalier i've gone back to that

  5. #4
    It's an X I've taken part in an AIUK Ironman Shoot. Mistake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Swansea, United Ki
    Posts
    1,505
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Blog Entries
    19
    Downloads
    8
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Phijama View Post
    Having tried a few other tabs in between I've gone back to a saker. I'm told that my hand was flat without the tab but I really liked the feel in the palm. I don't use the 'lil finger rest but do use the thumb rest.

    Prior to this tab the A&F platform tab was my favourite, I do miss the nice platform that had to offer - I had a much more solid contact at anchor than the saker but the saker just feels so nice and stable in the palm.
    I tried it for a couple of months... hated it... and then went back to my trusty A&F tab... my dad brought my saker... and my old acc's... and is now shooting much better than he was
    /(bb|[^b]{2})/

  6. #5
    In the Gold MINIMike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    In a crazy world
    Posts
    731
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I still use mine exclusively - including both the thumb rest and 'pinky' hook.

    A few weeks ago I left my quiver, including tab, at home and was forced to use my old Angel tab. I found the old tab so uncomfortable that I couldn't imagine ever going back full time.
    Mushroom, mushroom!

  7. #6
    It's an X Hidden Hippo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    2,184
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Blog Entries
    89
    Downloads
    28
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I use mine. I like the feel of the tab and the palm rest deely. I also quite like the fact that the face is fairly thin meaning that I can actually get a decent feel for the string.

  8. #7
    pHz
    pHz is offline
    It's an X I've taken part in an AIUK American Shoot.I've taken part in an AIUK Ironman Shoot.The Fonz Award. pHz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    flatness
    Posts
    3,426
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Blog Entries
    4
    Downloads
    118
    Uploads
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    still using mine (but currently with no ledge and no finger spacer - still got the pinky hook though) for the time being

    over the last couple of weeks ive been experimenting with using it in different configurations and so far the current one is very comfortable and gives a better reference so am also playing with a chopped about cartel tab (cavalier knock-off) and also have just got a black widow to try out too

    having got used to the soma other tabs feel a bit unstable and 'wobbly' in the hand though - the shape and the pinky hook really help it to sit stably in your hand

    slainte : rob
    if the sun and moon should ever doubt theyd immediately go out (william blake)

  9. #8
    Neo
    Neo is offline
    It's an X Neo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Stockton On Tees
    Posts
    1,948
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Downloads
    26
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    I like it as well as costing 30 i would not wate any more money on another tab when this one works and is good for your form.

    I still admit it makes it difficult to nock and arrow but ive got used to it. If i was going to change again i would probably get the soma tab without the palm restraint.
    .................................................. ...................
    Buckle your seat belt, Dorothy, because Kansas is going bye-bye...

    .................................................. ...................

  10. #9
    In the Blue AIUK subscriber.
    Rip T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Suffolk
    Posts
    264
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Downloads
    43
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
    Still using it exclusively.

    Changed from an A&F and it has stopped the cutting on the top of the index finger and also the marks on the underside of the knuckle.

    These were getting very painful and I can say thay have gone now using the Soma.

    Rip
    There are 10 types of people who understand binary.
    Those who do and those who don't.

  11. #10
    It's an X I've taken part in an AIUK Ironman Shoot.The Fonz Award. Schme1440's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Rainham Essex
    Posts
    3,269
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Blog Entries
    61
    Downloads
    38
    Uploads
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    I have 2. One I bought and one I bought of a club mate when he decided he didnt like it. I still use them and wont use anything else. I just love the whole package and saw an improvement imiediately. Could have been because my old tab was a dog but I just love the way it feels. Even if it didnt have the back piece or finger hook I would still use them. Just like them as a tab.

    if you want to sell your Saker 1 tab please let me know and Ill give it a good home!
    "One shall stand and one shall fall!"

  12. #11
    In the Black
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    87
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I haven't seen replacement Cordovan faces for the Soma anywhere, so when you need a new face, it looks like a new tab. I know you can make them your self out of other material, but I like cordovan.

  13. #12
    In the White Phijama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Hull
    Posts
    19
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Groundhog View Post
    I haven't seen replacement Cordovan faces for the Soma anywhere, so when you need a new face, it looks like a new tab. I know you can make them your self out of other material, but I like cordovan.
    Try here...

    Quicks Archery



Similar Threads

  1. Soma Saker II Tab
    By worthipa in forum Equipment Discussion Q&A
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 30-11-07, 03:52 PM
  2. Soma Saker Tab Colour
    By Neo in forum Archery Polls
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 25-10-07, 08:58 AM
  3. Soma Saker V's Cavalier
    By Cam in forum Recurve Bow
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 14-05-07, 08:20 AM
  4. Soma saker tab
    By MINIMike in forum Equipment Discussion Q&A
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-12-06, 01:53 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •