I went down to the woods today

Beardy

The American
American Shoot
ive been shooting g target archery for going on 10 years now, but today I wandered into the woods. Ok, I went to the local Field archer club for a try. I'm hooked! I've always loved being in forests, but shooting arrows whilst being surrounded by the trees was just magic.
I did however feel a little conspicuous with my all carbon recurve, even without the sights and stabilisers. And my old ally arrows kept falling off the rest.

Ive decided therefore that I need a new bow (it's as good an excuse as any) but after an evening of reading the rules I'm astounded at the number of clasifications. I had approached this thinking I wanted a compound, but rather perversely I thing I've put that well down the list (unless that is I can get an oneida) So I turn to you fair people to help me through the bewilderment.

Perhaps one one or other of you could sum up the pros and cons of the various styles when shooting at a predominantly NFAS club.

Yours hopefully
Paul.

JohnK

It's addictive, isn't it? :)

Why not barebow? Fixed anchor point, no stringwalking, single stabiliser. You can simply strip down your current set up and give it a go. I love shooting NFAS barebow, and when Border finally come out with their 27in Tempest, I'm going to get one and use it for barebow field archery.

Have fun!

vmaxphil

I started with my target bow stripped down and ally arrows to learn the rules and course, now I have progressed to hunting tackle shooting an osprey, to cure the arrows falling of just cant the bow slightly.
Useing your target equipment at first will give you a chance to get used to the terrain as you know the bow less to think about

D

Deleted member 7654

Become the woods :) , make a primitive...
Del
PS. If you were a tad more specific about your locaion it would be useful. If you are close enough to visit, I'd let you try some primitives. Even a county would help.

BillM