Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Crowded Shooting Line, any solutions?

In the White
    Thanks

Crowded Shooting Line, any solutions?

Ok, had a bit of a rubbish evening last night on one of our first nights shooting outside. I'm relatively new to the sport, just a year in and still struggling with the etiquette of it all. We had 4 targets put out, 40, 60, 80 and 100yards.

The experts were shooting 80, 100 and getting themselves ready for up and coming competitions and the rest were on the lower distances. I'm on 60 at the moment and plugging away trying to get my 252. Just bought a scope which really helped last week see where arrows are falling. I set up the scope and there were 3 of us on the target no problem.

Next end, two more people choose to shoot at 60 which I quickly realised was going to be too many for me and my scope to fit it. I removed it and packed it away.

It's worth pointing out that I absolutely hate getting in the way of others, I'm always the last to join the line and let others get there first. I suppose i'm looking at the pecking order, those that have been doing it for years have priority, seems like the best way to not ruffle any feathers.

So one of the experts asked me why I removed my scope, I said there wasn't enough room and I was fine.

Next end there are 5 of us on the same target and i'm at the end facing a long bow, this was awkward as the tip of their bow kept hovering a foot away from my face, I moved back and that left me at a really bad angle to shoot and starting to get in the way of the 40 target shooters.

Anyway, to cut a long story shot, next end I moved to 40, there was just not enough room for 5 people on the 60.

Next thing I know, one of the experts has had a word about the fact that i've had to move targets with the other archers and asked them to bunch up some more.

This was really embarrassing even though they were being really kind and looking out for me and then rest of the line.