Score to weight ratio

urbin

No.

Compound uses a slightly different balance of muscles. "Putting on weight" by itself won't help. Strengthening your muscles may help, but first just work on technique. If you have a coach they will be able to advise, and if you find yourself with muscle pain then a physio can also recommend some exercises.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

KidCurry

AIUK Saviour
As urbin said. Drawing a compound is more to do with technique than strength, if that what you mean by "putting on weight". I'm not sure if body mass will give you any more stability. I started shooting at 10.5 stone and I'm now 14 stone and it has not made any difference:) You will want to select a peak weight that does not cause you injuries though. That said, the 'cam profile' is a significant factor when trying to draw a compound. Probably best not to go with something too aggressive.

AndyW

I would start off with a compound with a soft cam design and a lot of adjustment wrt draw length and holding weight, that way you won't blow money on the wrong cam and you can work up the poundage. When you've shot for a year or so you will then be more informed should you wish to swap bows. There are some very good adjustable bows out there.
Putting on weight won't do a thing apart from make you stand differently to avoid your tummy ( watch me shoot if you need an example ). P.S. if you've never drawn a compound or let one down from full draw get someone to show you, don't try it for the first time on your shiny new bow you've just spent hundreds of pounds on.

bimble

Supporter
Fonz Awardee
Ironman
AIUK Saviour
as a larger fellow, I would point out it takes a lot more wind to blow me over than it would a skinny chap. This isn't a belly, it's a wind stabilization system!! ;-)

AndyW

bimble, the sacrifices we make for archery eh! At least with increasing age we don't have to put as much time in down the pub to maintain the larger figure.