[RECURVE] Stabiliser help

Shazza

Hi everyone, I hope someone can advise.

I really want to treat myself to a new set of stabilisers, I've had my old Cartel ones since I started shooting. I quite fancy the Win & Win HMC Plus stabs, what are your thoughts on these? Can anyone recommend any other ones?

Corax67

Hi,

I picked up a second hand set of the previous HMC (long rod & twins + extender) last week & have shot with them twice, once outdoor & once indoor. They replaced a mix & match SF Axiom set which came with the setup I bought. In all honesty I got them because they were at fabulously low price & were red to match my W&W riser rather than for a deeply technical need.

Initial impressions are very positive - not used the extender yet but I genuinely feel there is less shock/recoil after each release - this could of course be purely psychological or an attack of 'shiny kit happiness'. The bow certainly falls away more gently on release rather than jumping out of my supporting hand which is a major bonus. I found I had less fatigue after a 100yd 6-dozen round but I may have had a quieter week in work leading up to my shooting session - only time will tell if it is a permanent improvement but I hope it is.

My indoor round - a Portsmouth - was poor but that was due to trying to shoot with a streaming cold/hacking cough instead of staying home with a suitable hot toddy so no useful feedback generated from that shoot other than the lack of 'jump' out of the hand.

Probably not helpful but they do make people go "ooh pretty" on the shooting line ;)

Hopefully this Saturday I am on video review again so will be able to see if they have had any effect on my habit of hand twitching on release or my dipping bow arm.

Karl

Geophys