Worn button plunger

brianh

I don't intend this to become a blog, but it may be lengthy. I've searched the threads and found nothing that relates to the problem I've found.

I started shooting 9 months ago and settled on recurve as a discipline. Bought the usual starter kit and eventually started to buy improvements so the original button (can't remember the name) was replaced by a Shibuya DX - nice! Original carbon arrows replaced by ACEs. Come the indoor season and it was suggested that shooting ACEs at 20 yards was aking for trouble and expense so use the old carbon shafts but, since they are different diameters, out from retirement comes the original button.

Showing signs of "grittiness" the original plunger was replaced with the one included in the bag which says it is made of Teflon. Now that's smooth!

2 months on and my form takes a dive. Keep struggling to improve but no effect. Then I notice that the tip of the plunger is no longer flat but concave! Do a check on arrow alignment and find that the button needs adjusting by two turns on the locking ring.

I think the moral is "don't trust the plastic and cure the grittiness".

Anybody else had this happen?

buzz lite beer

I've never in all my archery life seen a concave plunger tip, seen lots where the edges have worn off due to poor rest set up. can you post a pic? if you suffer as would seem the case here from a worn button either opt for the gold tip version of the DX or pull out the cash and get a Beiter for ultimate longevity

brianh

Worn plunger

I've just tried to enhance a photo of the plunger and finished up with an image of 14Meg so I shall need to try harder! Probably daylight rather than flash photography will help. Incidentally, the Shibuya DX is not the faulty kit. The gold tip is fine. It's the other button that's given me the problem.

sambow