Release aid comparisons

h20vrrq

Since I started shooting compound bows way back in 1990 I have always used a wrist release aid as I just found them easier. After quite a few years away from archery I got back into it just over 2 years ago and naturally went back to shooting with a wrist release aid. I tried (and bought) several and my scores were ok. During the last indoor season I borrowed a Cater Target 4 and gave it a go for a few weeks. Maybe it was 'new kit syndrome' but my scores started to increase. The target 4 wasnt that comfortable for me, so I ended up buying a 2nd hand Just B-Cuz. Much more comfortable in the hand and scores went up even more.

Anyway tonight I though I would get out my favourite wrist relaease aids (Carter Two-Shot, Carter Backstrap & Scott Silverhorn) and compare them to the Just B-Cuz. I shot 18 arrows with each release in turn, then did it all over again, so 36 arrows in total for each release.

The Two-Shot is a great release aid, each shot is crisp and quiet & difficult to punch. The Backstrap was quiet and smooth and each shot felt good. The Silverhorn was the smoothest of the lot by far and each shot was very quiet. The JBC on the other hand, felt awkward and not smooth at all, each shot was noticably a lot harsher, maybe this is down to me not using the release correctly.

The scores are as follows (60yds @ 80cm face): -

Two-Shot: 53 54 55 54 54 54 = 324
Backstrap: 57 54 52 55 53 55 = 326
Silverhorn: 54 55 54 55 55 55 = 328
Just BCuz: 54 52 51 54 54 55 = 320

I was suprised at the results, I thought I was doing well with the JBC and it would come out on top, wrong. OK, hardly an exhastive test but maybe I need to go back to wrist release aids or is it just a case of finding the correct release and then learn how to shoot it properly? Got a FITA over the bank holiday weekend, do I stay with the JBC or go back to a wrist release aid? Hmmm, decision time.