Couple of String Questions?

Simmy_82

Firstly i am fairly new to archery so some questions may sound stupid.

I bought my first bow at the weekend. I havent used it yet (other than the shop trial) so i have a couple of questions about bow string care etc.

1. Whats the best way to store it? Currently its still in the tube it came in. Should i store it in this once i begin using it regulary or is there a better way to store it?

2. Do they come prewaxed? Its a Fast Flight string so wondering if i need to wax/treat it before use?

3. I have seen on some bow care guides and stringing guides that say when i install the bow string on my bow that i should twist it before putting the bottom loop on? It wasnt something covered when we strung our bows on our beginners course so curious if this step is required or no?

Thanks for your patience guys and gals.

Insanity-Rocks

The string will need at least some twists in it. I think the rule of thumb is one twist per inch (I'm sure someone else will come along and correct me) You'll have to string the bow and find out what the bracing height (distance from the nocking point to the throat of the riser) and compare that to what the bow manuel says it should be. If your bracing height is too short add a few twists, and if it's too long take some twists out.

The bow will have to have the same bracing height everytime you shoot it, otherwise it'll act completely differently from one week to the next.

As for waxing, I wax mine whenever it starts getting fluffy

Davewarn

The string should be waxed often, it needs to look like one string not lots of strings twisted together so wax it loads then rub your fingers up and down until its almost to hot to bare, that should melt the wax and bond the string together :)

Simmy_82

Thanks. If i recall i did look like lots of strings twisted together when not on the bow. If thats the case do i wax it once its on the bow?