Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Maximal Edge Arrows - opinions

  1. #1
    In the Black
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Pontefract
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Maximal Edge Arrows - opinions

    What do members think of the Maximal Edge carbon arrows for a compound beginner?
    Thanks.

  2.  

  3. #2
    In the Blue
    jonUK76's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    South Wales
    Posts
    234
    Thanks
    88
    Thanked 47 Times in 40 Posts
    Well, no experience of those particular ones but I do own some Avalon Tec Ones which are from the same "group of brands" (Avalon, Maximal, Buck Trail etc. are all brands of SSA Archery). I've been very impressed with them for the price paid (which was really not a lot, 40 for dozen bare shafts from Alternative). No breakages yet (apart from a Robin Hood, where the nock pin saved the arrow!), and they group exceedingly well at 18 m from my recurve. The Edge are what are sometimes called "standard diameter" carbon arrows which take the Easton S-Nock and equivalent, while the Tec Ones are skinnier, well suited to long range target shooting where all-carbon is allowed. I think it's reasonable to assume that Avalon and Maximal arrows are sourced from the same place, so they should be reasonable quality. In short, yes I'm sure they'll be fine for a compound beginner.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to jonUK76 For This Useful Post:

    RogerM (18-12-18)

  5. #3
    In the Black Lammas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    North Eastern Alps
    Posts
    79
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
    I am shooting the Carbon Edge with my compound, namely the 400 spine. Nothing bad to report yet.
    If you hit stones or metal, they are done. But that is to be expected with a >= 50 ft-lbs compound, enough to disintegrate any arrow.
    I'm shooting almost one year now, and my groups depend only on my form, not the equipment. A .001 straightness arrow might make sense for a pro shooter, but not yet for me.

    I had tried 600 spine arrows with my horsebow, because the Maximal arrows are 33", and I need at least 32".
    All still intact, but I shoot them rarely, because for competitions I'm required to shoot wood arrows with that bow.

  6. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Lammas For This Useful Post:

    RogerM (18-12-18), upinsmoke (22-12-18)

  7. #4
    In the White
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    HI Roger did you get the maximal edge arrows how did they do, thinking of getting some myself, or the avalon skinnies not shaw what yet

Similar Threads

  1. Arrows no MUBOJUMBO just honest opinions please
    By Hawkmoon in forum Arrows & Components
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-09-17, 03:05 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •