[Horsebow] Review: Flagella Dei Hungarian-Magyar bow

Tom_L

Hey there, I have been a member here (lurking mostly) for a long time but haven't posted much despite learning a great deal. Now I hope I might be able to contribute something useful finally. So here is a quick hands-on review on my latest purchase, the Hungarian-Magyar horse bow by Flagella Dei.

A little background info first: I have been shooting and making selfbows on and off for almost as long as I can remember. I have some experience with recurves as well, but for the past few years I have been mostly into compounds (currently shooting a 70lb Hoyt Charger). These days I am getting back into self-bows more seriously again. I've always been fond of compact hunting recurves. Unfortunately, at my build (6'2") it's not always easy to find a good bow that doesn't stack too badly at longer draw lengths. It was mostly for that reason that I became interested in horse bows as a possible alternative. Not knowing what to expect, I thought it better to start with an inexpensive bow to see if the style suits me at all.

A number of Hungarian-based manufacturers are producing more or less similar fiberglass and/or laminated horse bows - Grozer, Kassai, Toth etc. However, it was Flagella Dei that really caught my attention as they seem to offer a range of laminated glass/wood at a very competitive price (ca. 100 EUR). I was looking particularly at their laminated Hungarian-Magyar bow. What's more, they happened to have that model in stock exactly at the draw weight that I wanted (47lb).