[English Longbow] Longbow release

I'm very new to shooting with a longbow (having shot recurve and now moved mainly to "the dark side") and have a question.

I don't really get on with using a glove on my release hand when I?m shooting having spent so long with a tab and now with my compound using a trigger release. I've only ever seen the longbow shot using a glove and I would like to use my Cavalier Tab.

Is this a "done thing" or is it frowned up by the purists?

To be honest I shoot for the relaxation of the sport. I have no intention of entering any competitions, and my club is a very relaxed and friendly affair. This being the case I?m sure I wouldn't get an grief from any of the other members whatever I used, although I?m sure if I started using my compound release they would!:pessimist

If I did indeed visit another club with my longbow and shot with a tab would this be okay? Also would it hinder me in any way in my form and grouping?

Phil Reay

a lot of longbow archers shoot with a tab so don't worry about going to another club and everyone shooting with a glove. just go for it.
Happy shooting

Thanks for the info.

To be honest thats what i thought, just wanted to check.

Archery in general is a cool sport to be involved in, but there are some that look down from high above, 'tut' and make waves. Mostly i ignore them and advise anyone new to do the same. Sometimes (like this) i sucked in and just want to make sure.

Tell you what though... this shooting with a bent stick and a sharpend twig is a damn sight harder then it looks!!! It is so much fun to switch from compound to longbow halfway through a session.

potnoodle

Yeah, the longbow archers shooting the best scores are almost all using a tab. Those who don't often do it to look more "traditional", or is it just that they like pulling arrows out of the ground?.. :scratchch

D

Deleted member 7654

I use a tab...