[English Longbow] Novice longbow shooter advice please

Siggy

I've recently started shooting longbow but am really struggling with technique. I watched other longbow shooters when at local competitions & at my club but everyone seems to have their own way of shooting.
Unfortunately there doesn't appear to be anyone offering training specifically for longbow otherwise I would take this up even if I had to pay.
Can anyone offer advice or if you know of a trainer in the East Midlands let me know
Thanks

DavidH

Siggy you'll get loads of advice on here, but many clubs don't have coaches with sufficient knowledge to help you. Many of us are self taught and go through, or have gone through, all the same struggles that you are having. Have a look at the instinctive thread on here, and all the threads you can find on longbow. Be careful of some of the you-tube videos, there's a lot of so called experts who really dont have a clue.

Watch and learn most from the ones at your club who are hitting the target most successfully, but most of all enjoy your shooting. Good luck with it. Have you come from recurve?

edit: also watch the ones who are enjoying it most;)

I used to shoot recurve but changed, for the better, to longbow just over 3 years ago. The missus went on a 6 week course at our club, which she was taught to shoot with a recurve but as soon as that finished she went straight to longbow shooting exactly the way she was taught and is pretty good considering she rarely practices.

I'd like to know what knowledge you need to teach somebody to shoot a longbow because from what I have seen most people have their own little querks and ways. The most important thing in my mind is having the right equipment in the first place, ie a decent set of well matched straight arrows. No point going out with a set of bananas of differing weights and hope to be consistent.