Barebow String walking - effect of harmonics on arrow impact

Corax67

One for the scientifically minded amongst us.

Whilst shooting indoors tonight I shared a target with a barebow archer who was string walking, first time I have shot with someone doing this. I was particularly drawn to to sound of his bow on release and how it subtly changed as his finger placement changed.

As a guitarist I am well acquainted with string vibration, harmonics and nodes and with this in mind I wondered that if the release fingers fall off the node for a natural harmonic then will the associated string vibration on release have an adverse effect on arrow impact point at the target face

I.E. Assuming the nocking point falls on a node with a 'one over, two under' release then is any vibration created at the same nocking point with an alternative release hand placement causing the node points to shift translated into the arrow affecting its flight and ultimate impact point ?

I could of course be massively over thinking this :)

Karl

Kickaha

I would think that the string vibrates AFTER the arrow has left it.

The main change you get with stringwalking is that you are working the lower limb more, so you often need to alter the tiller and move the nock point to account for it.

Tuning for stringwalking is a dark art.

Corax67

I would think that the string vibrates AFTER the arrow has left it.

The main change you get with stringwalking is that you are working the lower limb more, so you often need to alter the tiller and move the nock point to account for it.

Tuning for stringwalking is a dark art.

Would never have thought about having to change the bow setup to accommodate the altered mechanical input of a lower release hand - thanks Kickaha.

Bow tuning strikes me as a subject that could keep an archer studying for a lifetime :)