Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree3Likes
Discuss Arrow clearance / spine issue at the Methodology, Tuning, Coaching etc. within Archery Interchange Forums; Hi everyone. I've been having this problem for a few months now, but haven't been ...
    In the Blue

Thanks

Arrow clearance / spine issue

Hi everyone.
    I've been having this problem for a few months now, but haven't been shooting all that much in that time, so haven't been able to spend enough time trying to resolve it.
    (If that makes sense).
    I shoot recurve, and had been slowly improving, with handicap dropping below 40, mid - high 30s being shot in practice shoots (just to demonstrate I'm not a total beginner).
    I had been having a very occasional problem with arrows catching the arrow rest and stripping or damaging a fletching. This happened maybe once every 3 or 4 dozen arrows.
    After a bit of a break and not shooting much, this began to happen more often. Probably I lost some strength and technique and some mismatch in the arrows was now becoming more evident I thought.
    Anyway, I have spent time trying to tune out the clearance problems - decrease poundage (limbs are at lowest setting now), decrease brace height. Nothing has really worked.

Below is a photo of the effects of a few months of shooting like this. Note the marks on the arrow rest and even the clicker. Even now it doesn't occur every arrow, but maybe 1 in 3, so there is probably some technical flaw involved, although I don't think the arrow tuning should be so borderline that half my arrows hit the riser!
    IMAG1026.jpg
    The thing that's stopped me from just going out and buying arrows that suit, is that I thought I had erred on the side of too stiff when I bought these, but surely if they're catching the rest, they're too whippy.
    Anyway, here are the measurements:
    Arrow length = 31.5".
    Bow = 38/39#.
    Spine = 500 (ACC 3-28).