Beginner - Learn to make arrows up or keep buying pre-made ones?

Grimmy

I am a beginner (been practising since mid june) and was wondering if it is better to sart learning to make your own arrows or continue to buy ready to use ones. I say this as I practice most days on a straw target in my garden and I find that a nock or a fletching gets damaged every week now because of one arrow hitting another one.
It seems like it would be cheaper to start making and repairing my own arrows? The ones I use at present are alloy beginners ones.

Kae

The American
American Shoot
Without a doubt!

One of THE most important DIY tasks in archery.
Plus you'll save a small fortune.

Kae.

phil_r_58

Supporter
Supporter
Ironman
If you intend staying in the sport, a fletching jig is going to be essential. Replacing nocks and fletches is quick, easy and cheap.

geoffretired

Supporter
Supporter
I agree with the other posts too.
To reduce arrow damage you could try setting your sight just a bit too high.
Then shoot one arrow. If you aim at that arrow next time, the second one should land below it as your sight is set too high.Shoot arrow 3 at arrow2 and you should land below again. Repeat the pattern. You should see a line of equally spaced arrows.

Stylisht

If you let other people make your arrows, you can never have complete confidence in them.

Might as well learn early.

pHz

The American
Fonz Awardee
Ironman
American Shoot
If you let other people make your arrows, you can never have complete confidence in them.
good call - the confidence thing is a biggy

(plus if an arrow does 'fail' you only have yourself to blame rather than offloading blame elsewhere)

slainte :cheerful: rob

grimsby archer

in addition to the other posts:

if someone else makes your arrows up, when you come to replace one fletching, you can never get your fletching jig to exactly the same angle as the one used to originally fletch the arrows, so you end up with conflicting fletchings (mismatched angles)