Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 8

Thread: Bracing Gauge

  1. #1
    In the Gold
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    735
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 56 Times in 43 Posts

    Bracing Gauge

    I usually check/adjust my brace height with the gauge fixed on the string and use the button as my datum. Today I checked a brace height using the 'Tee' against the deepest part of the grip and read off the distance from the rule. It took me a few minutes to realise that using this method, because of the design of the gauge, that I got a reading approximately 1/8" or 3mm greater than my preferred method. It just goes to prove 'Use one standard method' and stick with it or make a mental adjustment.

  2. #2
    It's an X I've taken part in an AIUK Ironman Shoot.The Fonz Award.AIUK subscriber. Timid Toad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 258 Times in 228 Posts
    Yup. Use your manyfacturer's recomendation. Mine says throat of the grip. Which is handy, as my button is it the furthest away hole in the bow.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime doubly so." Douglas Adams

  3. #3
    In the Gold dvd8n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,041
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 124 Times in 102 Posts
    Yes, I came to a similar realisation recently. I had to get it explained to me in words of one syllable.........

    http://www.archeryinterchange.com/f3...brands-242257/
    Where are my dancing penguins? I was promised penguins ............

  4. #4
    In the Gold
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    735
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 56 Times in 43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dvd8n View Post
    Yes, I came to a similar realisation recently. I had to get it explained to me in words of one syllable.........

    http://www.archeryinterchange.com/f3...brands-242257/
    If I had read that before I posted I could have saved myself some time!

  5. #5
    In the Red
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Hornchurch Essex
    Posts
    420
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 27 Times in 25 Posts
    To be honest if you are just checking your own brace height then as long as you check it using the same reference points it does not make any real difference. You tune your bow and adjust the brace height then you just check it is the same each time you setup. If you are advising someone else on what brace height then it will obviously make a big difference if you are both using different reference point.

  6. #6
    In the Blue jonUK76's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    South Wales
    Posts
    187
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 37 Times in 30 Posts
    I recently realised my Avalon gauge has two sets of scales on each side. One measured to the string clips, and the other measured to the inner part of the T, for when measuring from the bow out to the string. I've probably been doing it wrong all this time...

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to jonUK76 For This Useful Post:

    hermessy (23-10-18)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Confused: using bracing height gauge to set knocking pt
    By Compound10 in forum Compound Bow
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 24-01-11, 06:24 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •