Draw length;has your changed?

geoffretired

Supporter
Supporter
When archers finish their beginners' course, and join a club, they are usually advised what to buy and what to avoid. Arrows that are too long is usually a good idea; expecting their draw length to increase as they settle/ relax into a better posture.
Sometimes, though, draw length changes are made after some years of shooting.I am not thinking of juniors who have grown in the few years since buying their first bow, but seniors who aren't old enough to be shrinking just yet!!
We read of examples on this forum, sometimes after a visit to a well known coach, who advised a draw length change.
I suppose the change isn't so much draw length as draw posture; bone alignment at full draw.
I wonder what the reasons are behind the need to change? Was it ,for example, that the archer was self taught and just, "knew no better"? Perhaps they were advised by someone who had the idea that "centre of nose, centre of chin" was all that matters.
What are your experiences with draw length? Changes or decision making for what's better for you or your students.
Cheers.

darthTer

Supporter
Ironman
American Shoot
I would guess that most DL changes come about form either an alignment change, or reference change.

I attended a session with Coach Kim a while back....he recommended that I change my reference to a more "side of mouth" anchor - this added another 1" to my draw. However, I reverted back to my original position due to not being able to maintain consistency.

Draw elbow alignment is also a big "favourite" for changing DL, as is head position. I would think that a change of reference position would be the most common reason though!!!

johnnybeta

Ironman
I changed my draw length after about two years after finishing my beginners course, and like DarthTer moved to a side of mouth anchor which added a good 1-2cm to my draw length.