Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Dilemma Choosing First Bow

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    In the Black
    Thanks

Question Dilemma Choosing First Bow

Evening all,
    right as I might have mentioned in my intro thread I'm new to archery, now only got to wait 2 more weeks for the beginners course to start (seems about a year since I booked it). thoughts have turned to the first bow purchase, rather than just drooling at the various websites.
    With all the reading I've done I understand that draw weight can change quite a bit during the first year or so as your musculature adapts to shooting and this is causing the dilemma, as I have the firm ambition of joining the stick and string brigade (ELB chapter) do I dive right in and buy the big stick at a lowish poundage knowing that in a short time ill be needing to upgrade or play with say a flatbow or trad recurve for a few months until I have a better idea of a comfortable poundage.
    the usual financial factor is at play here as my head doesn't really want to be handing over 4-500 beer tokens for a big stick and twigs that turn out to be fairly temporary suitability wise, against the heart that's dead set on sailing across the channel and laying siege to Calais and isn't at all interested in being sensible.
    Matt

Thanks
    Wait.

Once you've started your beginner's course you may change your mind about where you want to go. If you still want to go longbow afterwards then it's a different matter.

You could buy a starter bow, like the ones you'll learn on, and build up the poundage until a new longbow won't need to be replaced with a heavier one in a matter of months.

Or just get really cheap longbows until you feel settled enough to shell out the big penny's.

4. The Following User Says Thank You to chuffalump For This Useful Post:

HongKongPhooey (24-05-19)

In the Black
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by chuffalump View Post
    Wait.