A question on aimimg

A16KSB

Hi I'm relatively new to Field / Trad Archery

I have access to a club with a 20yd range most days of the week and shoot very well just by looking at what I want to hit. I'm not aware of where the arrow tip is, but the arrow is in my peripheral vision , I guess my brain has worked the trajectory at this distance.

When I do get a chance to go outside and shoot further distances I can no longer look at my target, and I have to look higher than my target

I'm not going to get hung up on what this aiming technique is called, (but I am interested) just really wanted to know is this "normal", as I don't understand how an instinctive archer looks at the target and is able to hit it, if the trajectory path doesn't allow it

I hope this makes sense

Keith

frustratatosk

Hi Keith,
I agree, it does work surprisingly well! I find (and these techniques are quite personal) it is good to anchor a little way below me eye and not string walk the arrow close to my eye so that my peripheral vision sees more of the attitude of the arrow (if that makes sense.)
As the target gets further away you will get closer to 'point on' and it will become practically impossible not to gap to some extent because the gap will be unmissable. Beyond that your point will move above the target and the arrow becomes a featureless rod in your view like the string.
I find that keeping both eyes open is essential as with one eye you are just looking at the back of your hand! With 2 eyes you actually get to use the 'transparent' details of the back of your hand as a reference.
Rick

But I totally agree that being aware of the trajectory is important and, for myself, when I forget to do that and just think 'my knuckle was in the gold why did I miss?' then it all goes wrong.
Fly with the arrow and the shot sequence isn't over until the arrow is home.

D

Deleted member 7654