Barebow Arrow Weight

MikeD

Hi,

I've been shooting barebow indoors for a couple of months now (and other styles on and off over the last 40 years). Today I got a first chance to try shooting outdoors.

My setup: Spigarelli Revolution riser with 44lb Hex 5 limbs (68", 43lbs on fingers). Arrows 2013 XX75s 28" long.

So with that setup I'm point on at 50 yards. As I shoot IFAA, up to 80 yards, it would be nice to get point on a bit longer.

If I switched to 600 spine Carbon Ones at 28" with 80 grain points they be about 45 grains lighter.

How much difference is that likely to make?

Am I right thinking if I can shorten the arrows, I'd get a higher trajectory through geometry. Is .5 " going to make much difference.

Is there anything else I can do?

Cheers

Mike

Valkamai

When i shot an ifaa round last year (ukifac held at my club, i normally shoot fita field) I was shooting 28 inch goldtip velocity arrows, 600 spine, 100gr points plus insert, total arrow weight about 293 grains. String walking up to 65 yards, aiming just above the face for 70, string walking to 65 yard mark with shelf on bottom of face for 80 yards. I was using hex 5w 42lbs @ 28, about 40 otf. I'm guessing the carbon ones are a similar weight, possibly slightly heavier, but I would really consider a heavier point weight to give a higher foc.

Sent from my GT-I8160 using Tapatalk 2

steve Morley

When I switched from Bowhunter to Barebow I lowered my anchor to Index finger corner of mouth, it also gave me a stronger conclusion.

I've been shooting 550 C1's last year 29" 90g points and KVanes 310g total, 42# CV-H limbs, with my 27.75"" draw I have a 60y point on, 65y I gap, 70y I lower my anchor for another point on and gap again at 80y.

I'm trying 525 CT Cheetah's this year, bigger diameter shaft, 125g up front but only 3g heavier than the C1's, I shoot a lot of 3D IFAA/WA. So far I'm pleased with how these arrows shoot

blakey

Y
Hi,