[English Longbow] Beginner to traditional archery....please help !

Status
Not open for further replies.

Corrine7

Hi, I've been shooting recurve for the past year and would like to start traditional archery. The club where my son and I shoot is outdoors. I am female and only pulling 19-21 lb, so I need something easy to begin with ! I would also like to start at the cheaper end just incase i fail miserably and revert back to recurve ! Do I go for an AFB or a starter/beginners ELB ? Ps I'm not intending on entering any comps any time soon !!
I've tried to give as much info as poss but if Ive missed something bear with me I am a newbie, thanks for any help anyone can give!

Hi Corrine,

I Shot barebow recurve for a year and then decided to go traditional so went for an AFB. I figured it's kind of half way between Recurve and ELB. Shooting off the shelf is a lot closer to shooting off of an arrow rest than shooting off of your hand. I figured I'll try and get decent with the AFB before switching to ELB but at the end of the day it's up to you.

Saying that it might actually be worth sticking with recurve for a bit and buying some second half limbs with a higher draw weight to build yourself up for it. I think ELBs have pretty high draw weight so it will be a hell of a jump to go from 21# to say 40#..

Or maybe find a cheap AFB around 30# to keep you going for a while before going onto ELB.

D

Deleted member 7654

An AFB will give better performance at that poundage and will be more affordable for a reasonable performance.
Cheap or second hand longbows are likely to be poor performers.
If you really want to get into longbow always try before you buy and avoid that well known auction site.

Mind having said all that I personally don't think an AFB made with modern materials is really traditional in the true sense.