Changing to olympic style anchor recurve

oceanjaws

Supporter
Supporter
AIUK Saviour
Hi.
I've been shooting for a few years, and when I'm at full draw, my index finger touches my canine tooth. It's been good for me.
The other day I watched a video (I watch a lot of archery videos) on that YouTube thing, and this one video was espousing the benefits of drawing to your chin - olympic style. It made SO much sense to look down the shaft of the arrow that today I practised like that.
I'll honestly say that it was really great. Gimme a while at it, and perhaps I'll mellow in my opinion, but today it felt so right.

The thing is, when I was drawing, I was drawing and the nock was touching my lip. I shoot 3 under, you see.
It was good for me. I could feel the nock touching my lower lip, and the string on the tip of my nose. My index finger was in the cleft under my lip. I was staring down the shaft of the arrow.
What do you think? Do any of you shoot that way?

geoffretired

Supporter
Supporter
It sounds good. I would add a little bit about the string blur and where that appears in relation to the arrow ,and to the Centreline of the bow. Sometimes archers turn the head too far round to face the gold and that can bring on a posture that puts the string at full draw into a position that is between the eyes and not in line with the aiming eye. That can, at the same time, leave the draw elbow out of line making the full draw posture harder to hold steady.

oceanjaws

Supporter
Supporter
AIUK Saviour
Thanks Geoff, as always!!
and.... of course... here's a video so you can see how it's looking.
A few excuses beforehand...

1st - yes my arrows are too long, and I'll sort that out.
2nd - my head is moving into the string, and it should be in position and then I should move the string to that position. I'm still finding that position though, so i'm currently getting a feeling in my body of how I should be at full draw.