clicker for beginner - yay or nay?

ipob

I've been doing archery for almost 3 months so obviously I know everything there is to know............

I am trying to make my splashy groups tighter and noticed something interesting when our coach put up a wand target today for the beginners course but a few of us piled over to have a go. Using my usual draw but without the final pull across the shoulders I could hit the wand consistently but with quite a height variation. Before you worry, we were shooting it at about 18m rather than the normal distance.

I was wondering if a clicker, even on a temporary basis would help me be more consistent with my draw as I seemed to be able to improve my lateral group spread but at the cost of the vertical.

I tried on, I'm a 1 year beginner, but there is already too much going on during the release sequence to add something else.
It's back in the tool box for a bit.

nbuuifx

I'm about 5 or 6 months in now. I use a clicker. People have said that it is another thing to worry about, but I find it is something less to worry about.

I know that when it clicks I've pulled the same distance, sometimes I'm not ready and I either have to come down and start again, or try and hold it steady.

I find that as I tire during a session I have to move my clicker back a little and compensate my sight by a slight amount.

So personally I'd say speak with your coach and providing they don't say no due to another reason (like not using your scapula) then give it a try - the worst that will happen is that you will take some fletchings off by releasing too early.

Rik

Supporter
Supporter
my take: introduced properly, a clicker is the right way to go for someone shooting target style.
Or you're learning to shoot without a clicker, then re-learning to shoot with one.

There's a few caveats though.