Compound drop away rest suggestions for target - unable to draw TT launcher at mo

ajt_uk

Hi All,

Bit of a newbie here but thought I would ask for some advice... Currently shoot a Hoyt Maxxis 35 at 52-53lbs DW - 27" DL. All is usually fine but I have a niggling shoulder issue thats not allowing me to currently, comfortably draw back using my TT launcher. Now I know with some R&R that the pain will go and everything will right itself - I was stupid and strained my shoulder bowling... haha

Am looking at swapping my Trophy Taker launcher for a drop away rest for the time being so that the arrows are held better upon draw so they dont pop off the tounge (only happens while drawing back). My draw is usually fine so no issues with form, more of an issue with beer and a bowing ball!! :)

Anyone have any suggestions as to a solid, reliable drop away that I can use for target - indoor (eclipse arrows) and outdoor (ACG and X10 arrows). And thats fairly easy to set up?

Who knows, I may well stick to it if I like it but I will keep my TT to hand as its so reliable. The few "Dark-siders" at my club all shoot launchers so my info base on compound kit is a bit limited.

All the best
AJT

buzz lite beer

It may be a problem that could be simply solved by just adding a little more space between nocking points and or D-loop this will reduce nock pinch that tends to be the reason your arrow lifts off the rest. :)

geoffretired

Supporter
Supporter
The Spot Hogg Whammy seems like it should fit the bill very well. Perhaps check that the support can be set wider for fat arrows.

urbin

The Hamskea versarest is very easy to set up and can be configured in a number of ways (including as a blade rest). I've got mine set up as a limb-activated drop away. They're not cheap, though.

M

Moose