Fast Flight Stretching????

MikeD

I set up my bow last night to discover that the bracing height was down by a centimetre. After checking all the obvious things I decided the string must have stretched (it only had about 5 twists in it before).

How much would a string have to stretch to make a 1cm difference to the brace height (68" bow).

The string is about 3 weeks old and has probably shot about 600 arrows.

I think the stretch happened on Saturday shooting outdoors on a field course. It didn't click at the time but the second 14 targets I started shooting low and looking back I now realise I was shooting 5 meters short, but at the time I just blamed bad form). When I shot sighters last night I had to set my 25 metres mark for the 20 yard target!

I got the bow back with 15 twists on the string.

All a bit disconcerting as I've got my first indoor competition on Sunday!!!

Small Monkey

MikeD said:
How much would a string have to stretch to make a 1cm difference to the brace height (68" bow).
Based on a bracing height of 9", and the following assumptions:

(1) Bracing height measured to centre of bow, at a right angle to the string
(2) Distance from centre of bow to top/bottom of limb constant
(3) You meant one inch not one cm change (so sue me, I can't do metric conversions..)

and using Pythagorus' Theorem for right angled triangles, I'd say about half an inch. Approximately.

MikeD

68" is the combination of medium limbs and 25" riser. I don't know the actual length of the string before and after the stretch. 62.5" rings a bell. But it then had a few twists, which would shorten it a bit.

However I think Pythagorus shows it would've streched about 2.47mm ish as the change in brace height was from 22cm to 21cm.

That sounds reasonable. Could it be the string settling inside the serving?

I knew geometry would come in useful some time. Only took 30 years after school.

Small Monkey

MikeD said: