Hazel Bow hinge near handle

PhotoRepair

Hi all, like any new bowyer I am still learning the ropes. So far all my bows have had problems. Fist one Hazel stick bow, twist in the limb due to poor craftsman ship and rushed build. Cherry branch bow, hinge in mid limb, shoots but hand shock and big handle section due to limb cracking length wise along handle.

3rd attempt 2.5 inch diameter Hazel flat bow, bends slightly in the handle. I had to de crown the back carefully and then work the belly. Problem: I have a hinge near the handle. This only became evident when I unstrung it and noticed the set it that area. Its a very primitive bow, with bark still left on the edges to show the original width of the branch. Is the hinge near the handle a terminal problem? I do not want to string it again and make things worse, any help would be much appreciated.

My current understanding is that I would have to take wood off pretty much every where to compensate, resulting in weak bow, anyway to back that area?

Thanks for viewing

Neil

D

Deleted member 7654

You seem to have a pretty good understanding. Once you have a hinge, there isn't much you can do except reduce draw weight and remove wood elsewhere.
Is really a hinge or just a bit of string follow?
Maybe just taking some off on the handle side of the hinge would relieve it a little.
Flat wide bows are quite tricky to tiller as the limbs are soooo thin, just a little too much off can get you in trouble. A longer bow of a more 'longbow' profile is easier to tiller, but of course many woods won't take the stress of that sort of profile.
Persevere, but always make your bow a couple of inces too long at each tip, you can lose that length and increase the draw weight once it's safely tillered to a decent draw.
Even if it's not a great bow, shooting something you've made yorself is still a buzz, better luck next time.
Post a pic...
Del

PhotoRepair

Here is the pic.