Level 1 Coaching Course?

davedownsouth

I have been doing archery for two years now and am still really enjoying it. I am thinking about doing the Level 1 Coaching course so that I can more confidently help out at the club I am at, but was wondering what people who have done it thought of it?

Munsterman

It is quite basic but you have to start somewhere. Most people find it easy but I have seen a very experienced former international struggle with it.

davedownsouth

Basic is what I am after. I am particularly interested in a course which will Help me to spot when someone is shooting with a technique which is likely to cause them an injury. I notice quite a few new timers pick up a shoulder strain after a few months, possibly just because they do not warm up enough, but maybe because they are not doing it properly? Is spotting something like this just gained from experience, or would this corse help me?

Aleatorian

The level 1 is very basic and isn't aimed at spotting issues like this, it's intent is to assist higher level coaches and run beginners courses.

Shoulder issues in newbies tend to arise from overbowing or not setting the shoulder before the draw. Most newbie techniques tend to start drawing the bow from below shoulder level which pushes the shoulder upwards and out of the socket rather than settling into the socket.
Rather then bringing the bow to shoulder level and drawing slightly down onto the shoulder.

Also the overbowing causes the shoulder to rise as the necessary musculature hasn't developed enough to handle what is being asked of it.

For openness: I have let my level 1 lapse, due to wanting to get what I want out of archery

Aleatorian

I wasn't aware that it had an expiry date. How long before it lapses, and do you have to do the whole thing again?
From completion, you get 3 years before you have to renew. Now I'm not sure of the renewal process as I've not gone through it and I'm fairly sure you don't have to do the full course again.