Pay & play

Sleepy82

Just wondering if there is such a thing? If so, where? And do you need anything to go (certification, membership of governing bodys etc)?

The rifle club I'm in has it's own course but it's nothing special really and I'd like to try somewhere new, with longer ranges and more to go at - without needing to join a different club.

I've been shooting for around 30 years, mostly rifles, and spent half my life on various ranges. Including a couple of years at international level. So, range safety / discipline come pretty naturally to me but I'm no longer interested in shooting competitively (we are still talking about 3d archery, just giving a bit of background) - so, although going to matches just to shoot different courses would be an option it's more of a last resort to me

Sleepy82

Ooh, I was hoping someone would say that! I'm in lincoln but work near Mansfield. Happy to travel within reason though

Timid Toad

Staff member
Supporter
Fonz Awardee
Ironman
Ah, I know of one in Wales. However, I suspect a google will bring something up

Senlac

Supporter
Supporter
Unlike rifle shooting, it's legal in the UK to shoot arrows on any private land. So if you want to shoot arrows, you can do so in your home, your garage, your garden, a local farmer's field, etc. etc. - so long as you take reasonable precautions. I.e. between such private domains, and clubs, there is no need for Pay & Play?

Timid Toad

Staff member
Supporter
Fonz Awardee
Ironman
And have permission from the landowner. Although it's not exactly sociable.

Sleepy82

I have land i can shoot on, it was more the fun of doing different 3d courses i had in mind though, talking to new people etc.

all I could find online were "experiences" for stag/hen do's etc, not really what I'm looking for

where abouts in Wales toad? I may be willing, for a change of scenery

Riceburner

That looks perfect! Thankyou

If anyone knows of any others though, let me know please