Problem with points/inserts for Easton axis FMJ 300

misstheboss1973

Hi all. New to the forum so thanks in advance...its a great site!

im relatively new to archery but recently bought a bear anarchy compound 60-70lb for informal target & 3D/field shooting. After lots of research on arrows I decided to try the Easton axis FMJs in 300 spine based on strength, durability, small diameter & gpi. I bought just a couple of shafts to fletch and add inserts & points to until the new bow was set up properly. I then ran into a 'problem'...

The shafts came with the deep 6 rps inserts (my choice as have read bad things about the HIT inserts. I also bought the Easton deep 6 field points to go with them (the ones with the bulge). After screwing in I noticed that the diameter of the rear of the point (the rear of the bulge) is smaller than the arrow diameter. Is this ok? It looks a bit weird...

So I seem to have a few options...

a) Ignore it. It's not s problem and won't affect arrow or target wear (or accuracy).

b) Buy a set with the HIT inserts and fit standard 9/32 rps points (good as will have choice of point weights. But heard lots about split shafts/mushrooming with the HIT)

c) look for a different low diameter shaft. Like the look of the injexions but no one seems to sell them in the UK.

d) Try ordering the Easton points (from abroad) in a different size. I notice the points are available as DP6-5 and DP6-4. And in a 125g option. Anyone have any experience of these and know which matches the 300 axis shaft?

Your thoughts would be very welcome. Many thanks :)

Attachments

geoffretired

Supporter
Supporter
I have shot FMJ with the HIT system and never had a problem. Most arrows were damaged at the nock ends.
It looks like the points are suited to smaller diameter shafts; usually the fit at the shaft is flush and the bulge is wider than the shaft.

dvd8n

Supporter
Supporter
AIUK Saviour