Upping draw weight

Sleepy82

The new bow's ordered! But, it's not likely to arrive before the new year (6-12 weeks iirc) so, I have a little time to train

I'm going from 50lb (compound, unsure of let-off but it's pretty high) to 70lb 85%.

Obviously, Shooting the bow I have as much as possible will help significantly but I don't get to go all that much. So, I'm looking for alternatives. My best ideas so far are pressups and to cobble something together from a resistance band to imitate drawing a bow - a grip to hold in my bow hand and a powerful elastic with some sort of handle instead of a release

Do any of you have any other ideas or wisdom on the matter please? I've done well getting my draw/form reasonable (as far as I can tell) but I'm very short of people to ask - the "club" I'm in is simply a handful of guys at the gun club who dabble. So, effectively, I'm self-taught other than a year or so in an archery club ~ 28 years ago

I'll also be looking at a few coaching sessions, covid permitting, probably after Christmas now though. I'm not really interested in shooting competitively - but its always good to see an improvement

inthemiddle

Just out of interest are you in the UK? is this for field or target archery? I'm not sure on the rules for Field ( arrow speed limit?) but Target bows are limited to 60lb's. Unless you're trying to kill bears 70lb is a bit OTT.
However if you insist on 70lb seated rows or anything that engages your back muscles and things that emulate pulling a bow like bent over rows etc.
Compound archery is not really something you can teach your self IMHO. Sure you will do OK but to get the best out of it you will need help from an experience coach. This is very club dependant and dedicated compound coaches are hard to find. There are some decent resources on YouTube though.

Last edited:

Sleepy82