Barebow What do I need to know?

Darth Tom

[Hopefully this isn't a double post, it doesn't look like it worked the first time.]

I've decided to try barebow shooting with a one piece trad-ish recurve, shot off the shelf with a glove and to try stringwalking. I've wanted to try this since I started shooting over 16 years ago. But in all that time the only shooting I've ever done without a sight was a few sessions on holiday before I actually took up the sport.

So, what do I need to know about barebow shooting? What stuff might I need?

steve Morley

Off the shelf String Walking without a button, although not impossible it will be more of a challenge.

If you're shooting a wood riser, I wouldn't SW, you increase the risk of the bow breaking.

- - - Updated - - -

Off the shelf String Walking without a button, although not impossible it will be more of a challenge.

If you're shooting a wood riser, I wouldn't SW, you increase the risk of the bow breaking.

steve Morley

When you walk the string you're changing the dynamic spine of the arrow for each crawl distance, a plunger helps absorb these dynamic changes. When you shoot you longest crawl at short range you're also putting extra force on the bottom limb, so a wire rest works a little like the plunger by absorbing some of that downward force on the arrow, I think off the shelf at close range you may get erratic grouping.

Lot of extra limb vibration with Stringwalking a modern ILF can take those stresses, not so confident a wooden riser could.

I've tried a 30y fixed crawl off the shelf on a wood riser with a heavy arrow and gapped all the other distances, it worked well this way but the riser did develop as crack.

Darth Tom