When are stabilizers required (compound bow)

Nick72

Novice question.

Do you really need stabilizers for 18m indoor target.

I see the top guys with 8-12 pounds of total bow weight shooting 18m and I can't help but question it.

I find I actually shoot 18m better without any stabilizers on my PSE Drive 3B with a total bow weight of around 4 pounds.

Now this could just be because I'm new to the sport and my best isn't very good, but what have you all found better at 18m?

geoffretired

Supporter
Supporter
Some bows seem to balance nicely without stabilisers; others want to tip back during the power stroke. Sometimes just a little weight out front can get the bow to balance nicely and to keep a little steadier when aiming.
For really strong archers, any extra stability for the aim can make a difference to their scores. If they are competitive that will be important to them.
For archers who are past their prime, like me, the extra weight can be just the thing to tip me over my comfort level and scores suffer , my comfort decreases ad the pain goes up.

KidCurry

AIUK Saviour
As Geoff says it is often a comfort thing but there are a number of good reasons to whack some weight on the ends of some sticks. The first is weight up front weights the bow forward. This helps prevent the bow kicking up on the shot but also allows the bow to roll forward slightly which many archers prefer. Some like the bow to sit still and well balanced. To do this some weight is also needed out back, often on a single short rod. This allows the bow to be balanced during and after the shot. This is my preference, usually 14oz out front and 22-28oz out back.