Which centre serving material

messyhead

Hi folks. I removed a tied on nocking point at the weekend, and the centre serving was damaged and unravelled. So I need to repair it.

However, I've never done one before, so I'm a bit unsure what material to get.

The string is a reign string, and it's for a recurve.

I've been looking on a few stores, and the prices range from ?7 to over ?20, so any advice would be appreciated. I don't want to break the bank with buying an expensive serving thread.

Contact reign direct , Simon will probably reserve for free as long as you cover postage . YouTube is your friend for string making loads of great stuff there but be prepared to spend a bit of money first on kit and materials , it is good to beable to make your own strings as it allows you to experiment but unless you mbm I don’t think most people could tell the difference between materials. Don’t get me wrong I really enjoy making my own and friends strings but there are a few good string makers in the uk and for what they charge you can’t go wrong

Rik

Supporter
Supporter
If you can get someone to repair it for you, do that.
It's not just the thread, it's the serving tool as well. It doesn't pay to buy a cheap one of those.

Of course, if you're intending to have a go at making strings sometime soon, then that's a different situation...

GoneBad