Finger tab wear???

darthTer

Supporter
Ironman
American Shoot
Had to replace my tab face last night since my last face lasted a whopping 19 days before ripping.

I have been using Oberon material for a few years now and normally a face last ages. There may be 2 possible reasons:

1 - Material quality has dropped
2 - I'm doing something different which is wearing the faces overly quickly

The faces have ripped at the bottom section of the face, from the nock gap & curving towards the front of the face (If I can find a picture, I'll post it)

Anyone suggest anything that I may be doing with my fingers etc or has anyone else noticed Oberon faces not lasting as long???

Bald Eagle

Please tell me you are not using super glue on the nock points which hardens like stone and wrecks tabs????? Or you could be using brass nock sets which do nearly as good a job!!!!

darthTer

Supporter
Ironman
American Shoot
Please tell me you are not using super glue on the nock points which hardens like stone and wrecks tabs????? Or you could be using brass nock sets which do nearly as good a job!!!!

You'll be glad to know....I'm using neither. Centre serving is Diamondback, nock points are tied on serving material.

The top of the tap face (above the nock) looks fine, they just always seem to tear below the nock.

Timid Toad

Staff member
Supporter
Fonz Awardee
Ironman
I used to use Oberon but found it was lasting a whole Fita before ripping. The manufacturer recommended using soft twist for centre servings but I didn't want to change from Majesty. I now use Vulcolan (from P***is) which lasts over a year, doesn't need breaking in, doesn't mind being wet or dry and copes with super glued nocking points.

buzz lite beer