Setting up pressure button and sight pins

Newalpost

I'm still relatively new to archery but enjoying both the physical and technical challenges it presents. I started with a Cartel cheapy pressure button which came with a couple of springs and I just used the one that was already in it. I set up my centre shot and offset the arrow tip but didn't actually setup my sight pin position to any formula, just tweaking it until I had a reasonable group. The tension on the pressure button spring was set about mid-point and left there.

Now I've started to get a little more serious and having been going through the Tuning For Tens procedure, although I skipped the paper test and went to section 5. At the same time I switched to a Shibuya Pressure button.

I've now noticed that there was significant difference in the position of my sight pin when setup using the method in 1F - that is the arrow is centred on the string (not offset) and the pressure button has a stiff plunger - compared to what I previously had. With the Cartel button and my unscientific setup my sight pin was close to the riser, now the sight pin is a a lot further out from the riser.

I offset the arrow as described and then adjusted the pressure on the button to bring the group back to the centre and so far all seems well - at least as far as I can tell.

My questions are two fold.

1. Is there any significance to the fact that my sight pin is now a lot further out - more than 3.5cm than previous - and much more than my colleagues setup? Or is it just that I never got my first setup right?

2. Given that the Shibuya has 3 springs of apparently different tension, which one should I choose?

For what its worth I have a 30lb, 68" bow with 29" 630 spine arrows.

Thxs
Colin

dgmultimedia

Supporter
Supporter